Parallel Realities

Somehow, while I was meditating on my couch a few months back, I came across a portal or a window into the infinite parallel realities that exist all around us.

It was a very different kind of vision.

Describing what I saw or where I was won’t be easy and I can say that I’ve been puzzling over how to find the right words to bring it to life for a long time.

Imagine you’re sitting upright, very still and deep within a blissful trance, when the boundaries of your meditative vision are stretched from both sides of your head in a horizontal line away from your ears and tracing a perfectly straight trajectory to infinity.

Along this line, which starts at infinity from your left, passes right through your head and continues to infinity on your right, lie evenly spaced planes of existence that intersect the horizontal line vertically, like a very long file of dominoes standing on end and placed close to each other with a string threaded through the middle that connects them.

The sensation was very much like holding a mirror in front of a mirror and peering over the edge of the mirror you’re holding, which produces repeating reflected images that become progressively smaller on their way to infinity.

I wasn’t able to see what existed on the vertical planes but there was a “knowing” that these divisions, gazillions of them, were closely spaced, but very real, parallel realities or universes and my consciousness existed on each one and all of them were connected to me.

Any student of spirituality knows of parallel worlds and infinite dimensions and I believe my spirit guides were trying to paint a visual picture of this reality for me, to show that I’m a part of each one and to intimate some idea of just how boundless we are.

Even though I couldn’t see it, somehow I knew that my existence on each of these planes was real and that all of these different versions of me playing roles in other places were as much a part of my soul as this 3rd dimensional human life.

When I hear of someone who has disappeared into a parallel universe or “time slipped” into a different era, it’s easy for me to visualize such a thing now.

Quite simply, our souls are spread out over many realities.

