Like a Cork

This morning I sat down and meditated for an hour.

For some reason I wasn’t able to drop off into the soothing blackness as easily today. Thoughts kept peppering me and wouldn’t leave me alone. Normally I can shut them off like closing a valve on a water line.

As a result, I didn’t see very much.

What I did see, however, was interesting.

Imagine a simple vision of a manhole cover, like the circular ones that we see in our roads everywhere.

Below the heavy piece of iron, pressure was building up and as it did, the cover started to shake and clatter.

As I watched, pressure, noise and vibration rose to a deafening crescendo which popped the cover like a cork on a champagne bottle and sent the thing flying through the air.

From the exposed hole came a violent, screaming torrent of water that had so much pressure behind it that the water looked like the trunk of a tree; a fierce shaft of high velocity water shooting straight up.

Vibrating like an earthquake and howling like a tornado the area around me was releasing energy at an enormous rate.

For some reason I thought to myself, “Wow. Mother Earth sure has a lot to get rid of.”

