On the Road

I commute to work on an interstate highway. Over the past two months I’ve seen some bumper stickers that give me hope.

On a red Toyota Tacoma pickup truck I saw this one:

“Respond With Love”

On a green Chevrolet S-10 pickup truck I saw this one:

“INFOWARS.COM”

On a blue Volvo station wagon I saw this one:

“As above, So below”


On an early Sunday morning in late February I climbed into my car and noticed that I would need to stop for gas on the way to work.

I was already running late, so after getting gas I gunned it down the surface road I use to get to the highway.

As I whipped into a right hand turn onto the entrance ramp and started accelerating I noticed the blue flashing lights of a police cruiser behind me and they were approaching quickly.

Crap.

I pulled over. The police officer was friendly and not at all grumpy, which I suspected he would be at 5:00 in the morning on a Sunday.

He clocked me at 61 mph in a 45 mph zone.

After taking my driver’s license and running it through their computer database, he returned it with just a warning to slow down.

I was relieved.

I said, “Thank you, officer.”

I couldn’t believe what he said next:

“You’re welcome. When I was checking your license I noticed we have the same birthday.”

Leave a Reply

